• Community Social and Emotional Support Letter

    Friends and Families of Somers,


    We remain here and available to you during this unprecedented social, economic, and health experience. Your child and your family's wellness and mental health needs remain a priority for the Somers Central School District.


    School Psychologists from each of our buildings will continue to support students when needed with direct contact or check-ins. Connections via web applications, email, and phone calls may be utilized. All School Psychologists will monitor emails during business hours daily and will respond in a timely fashion.


    School Social Workers will continue to assist families with access to community services, transition planning, and check-ins. Connections will be maintained through email, phone calls, and web applications. Any forms, applications, or records requests can be exchanged via email to maintain the urgency of requests. Both of our Social Workers will monitor emails during business hours daily and will respond in a timely fashion.


    School Counselors from the elementary schools are providing support to all students through ongoing lessons available on the building website and more directly through web applications, email, and phone calls. School Counselors will monitor emails during business hours daily and will respond in a timely fashion.


    School Counselors from the middle and high school have continued to support all students though check-ins and virtual meetings in their course selections, scheduling, transition planning and emotional needs. School Counselors will monitor emails during business hours daily and will respond in a timely fashion.


    If an emergency or event of immediate concern arises about the physical or emotional health of your child, please contact your child’s pediatrician or other community health professional for immediate care.


    Each of you, our friends and families of Somers, remain in our thoughts and prayers. Please reach out to us with any questions and concerns. We will get through this together.


    Stay well,


    Wil Siegel, Asst. Director of Special Services
    Phil Kavanagh, Director of School Counseling

     

    Resources for children

    How to Talk to Your Children About Coronavirus

    How to Talk to Your Children About Coronavirus

    Video presentation on how to talk about COVID19 with your child

    Tips for Families: Talking About the Coronavirus

    Tips for Families: Talking About the Coronavirus

    Article offering talking points and a structure for speaking with your child about COVID19

    Talking to Your Children about the Coronavirus

    Talking to Your Children about the Coronavirus

    A brief video on how to talk with your child about COVID19

    Cómo hablar con los niños sobre el coronavirus

     

    Cómo hablar con los niños sobre el coronavirus

    Conforme la crisis del COVID-19 continúa, y muchos padres se preguntan cómo hablar con sus niños sobre la epidemia del coronavirus para que estén tranquilos y no se preocupen más. A continuación encontrará algunos consejos de los expertos del Child Mind Institute.

    Why are People Wearing Masks? Why are People Covering Their Faces?

    Why are People Wearing Masks? Why are People Covering Their Faces?

    Support in helping children come to terms with a new social normal

     

    Resources for adults

    Managing anxiety and stress

    Managing anxiety and stress

    Information about managing anxiety and stress

    Young Children at Home during the COVID-19 Outbreak

    Young Children at Home during the COVID-19 Outbreak: The Importance of Self-Care

     

    Article about maintaining self-care while parenting young children

    COVID-19 Fact Sheet for Grandfamilies and Multigenerational Families

    COVID-19 Fact Sheet for Grandfamilies and Multigenerational Families

     

    Fact sheet providing information for grandfamilies to stay healthy, informed and connected during the COVID-19 pandemic

    Guía de ayuda para padres y cuidadores para ayudar a las familias a enfrentar la enfermedad Coronavirus 2019 (COVID-19)

    Guía de ayuda para padres y cuidadores para ayudar a las familias a enfrentar la enfermedad Coronavirus 2019 (COVID-19)

    Ofrece información para padres y cuidadores sobre los brotes de enfermedades infecciosas en su comunidad

      

    Food and Financial assistance

    St. Luke’s Episcopal Church in Somers:

    www.slcsomers.org

    The Somers Food Pantry at St. Luke’s offers food to local residents in need on a weekly basis. A drive thru food pantry has been established in order to adhere to social distancing guidelines during the pandemic. Groceries are available for pick up on Friday afternoons between 2:30-4:00. At home delivery is available to housebound individuals and families upon request.

    Department of Social Services

     

    socialservices.westchestergov.com

     

    The DSS provides an array of services to Westchester County residents in need of assistance. This includes; child support, food, housing, medical insurance, and temporary assistance.

    Community Cares

    http://communitycares.org

     

    Community Cares is a not for profit organization that provides help in managing normal household tasks for families of school-aged children who have a parent dealing with cancer or another major medical illness. They provide assistance with meals, laundry, housekeeping, shopping and daily routines.

    Coping with distance learning

    Tools for Managing Your Child’s Screen Time and Setting Expectations

    Tools for Managing Your Child's Screen Time and Setting Expectations

    Article which provides families with tools on how to manage screen time during the coronavirus crisis

    Structure and Advice on Handling Push-Back

    Structure and Advice on Handling Push-Back

    Article providing background on how to structure the day, and what to do if there is push-back – divided into age groups

    Toolkit with Tips and Strategies for Handling Stress During Distance Learning

    Toolkit with Tips and Strategies for Handling Stress During Distance Learning

    Click "tool kit" and access strategies and tips for how to handle distance learning within the home setting. May require a valid email address to access the free materials/resources.

                    Emotional Support in the home – Elementary Level

    Coping Skills for Children and Families

    Coping Skills for Kids

    Article discussing coping skills for children and families to support stress and anxiety surrounding coronavirus

    Coping With Anxiety During Social Distancing

    Coping with Anxiety During Social Distancing

    Article providing strategies to help children stay social and connected while social distancing

    Developing Self-Regulation Skills to Help With Problem Solving

    Developing Self-Regulation Skills to Help With Problem Solving

    Advice on helping children with problem-solving by developing self-regulation skills

    The Power of Positive Attention

    The Power of Positive Attention

    Article focusing on the power of positive attention

    Creative Ways to Connect With Peers

    Creative Ways to Connect With Peers

    Article providing creative ways to have children connect with peers by maintaining social distancing

     

    Emotional Support in the home – Teen        

    6 Skill-Guide to Navigate Emotional Crisis

    6-Skill Guide to Navigate Emotional Crisis

    DBT discussion of stress tolerance skills

    Challenges and Opportunities During COVID-19

    Challenges and Opportunities During COVID-19

    Articles, videos, examples and links for challenges and opportunities for teens

    Signs of Teenage Depression and Tips for Talking

    Signs of Teenage Depression and Tips for Talking

    Information on signs of teenage depression, and tips for talking about it with your teen and resources for support

     

    A How-To on Guided Imagery

    A How-To on Guided Imagery

    A how-to on guided imagery with resources for anxiety, worry, sleeplessness, etc.

     

    Emotional Support in the Community

    Somers Central School District Emotional Health Resource Links

    https://www.somersschools.org/Page/11358

    A compilation of useful links for student, adults, and families.  Topics include information about current community stressors, self-care articles, and guidance documents for strategies. 

    St. Vincent’s Hospital Crisis Prevention and Response Team

    www.stvincentswestchester.org

     

    The CPRT is an interdisciplinary mobile team of mental health professionals. The CPRT serves any individual who is experiencing or at risk of psychological crisis, and who requires mental health intervention.  The Team responds to people within the community, usually visiting them at home. Walk-in evaluations are also available 24/7 at St. Vincent’s Hospital in Harrison. Los servicios están disponibles en español.

     

    The Department of Community Mental Health

    https://dcmhservices.westchestergov.com

    The DCMH plans, oversees and coordinates services for individuals and their families with mental illness, developmental disabilities, and substance abuse disorders.

    Contact list for district contacts:

    Primrose Elementary School

    School Psychologist

    Regina Kaishian – rkaishian@somersschools.org

         Emma Duran – eduran@somersschools.org

    School Counselor

         Katie Bergin – kbergin@somersschools.org

    School Social Worker

         Theresa Reda – treda@somersschools.org

     

    Somers Intermediate School

    School Psychologists

         Danielle Perrotto – dperrotto@somersschools.org

         Emma Duran – eduran@somersschools.org

    School Counselor

         Alexandria Todorov – atodorov@somersschools.org

    School Social Worker

         Theresa Reda – treda@somersschools.org

     

    Somers Middle School

    School Psychologists

         Samantha Morrison – smorrison@somersschools.org

         Stefanie Persichilli spersichilli@somersschools.org

    School counselors

         Ellen Fabian – Efabian@somersschools.org

         Ellen Bieber – ebieber@somersschools.org

         Stephanie Kurchack – skurchack@somersschools.org

    School Social Worker

         Kristen Rigaglia – krigaglia@somerschools.org

     

    Somers High School

    School Psychologists

         Sean Kennelly – skennelly@somersschools.org

         Jennifer Pirraglia – jpirraglia@somersschools.org

    School Counselors

         Angelo Carino – accarino@somersschools.org

         Annia Rivero – arivero@somersschools.org

         Cherlyne Pappas – cpappas@somersschools.org

         Eileen Cawley – ecawley@somersschool.org

         Michelle Tracy – mtracy@somesschools.org

    School Social Worker

         Kristen Rigaglia – krigaglia@somersschools.org

     

    District Administrators:

              Wil Siegel – Asst. Director of Special Services – wsiegel@somersschools.org

                Phil Kavanagh – Director of School Counseling – pkavanagh@somersschool.org